Karin Koizumi Coloring [WIP]

erwrw

Can’t believe it’s been about 2+ weeks since my last blog post, it’s been quite a while. Been extremely busy in the real world lately, the university trimester is starting on the 2nd of March so I’ve been setting things up left and right so that I can start the year in peace. Buying things to bring back to the apartment, as well as starting to pack sure is tiring, as well as sorting out things to bring and leave at home. I’ve bought a lot of things in the past 4 months so  taking things back can be quite difficult, as I now have a new fender strat guitar to bring back as well, along with it’s behemoth of a case. So yea, that’s the update on my life lately. Moving back up on Sunday so I might not post a new entry until at least Wednesday, when I will hopefully get my internet connection up and running at the apartment.

Now enough about that, there are some positive things that have happened recently. I’ve got my tablet back so I can finally get back to colouring and submitting artwork on DA!!! It’s been at least 13 months since I last touched a tablet, let alone color something so I have been quite anxious to see how far my skills have deteriorated. That’s why I picked a nice cover from my fav manga, Eyeshield 21, and went off on a piece. I chose Karin cos she has got to be one of the hottest and sweetest female characters I have seen recently. The lack of coloured pieces and fanarts for her is damn appalling so I thought I should try to contribute more to her cause.

Here’s the Work-In-Progress I have at the moment. Keep in mind that I haven’t colored in a long while so yea, there might be some oddities here and there 😛

Hit the jump for the full WIP

treteg

So far, I’ve only coloured the skin and bits of the hair. It took me quite a while to get used to the strokes of a tablet again but after a few minutes of playing around, I got the hang of it. I’m surprised that I haven’t lost too much of the skill and as of right now, the skin came out better than I expected. The only worry right now is the hair, since it is the single thing that I really dread when doing a coloring. My style is semi-detailed, so I can’t really dish out a simple coloring of hair like some artists do. I always tend to overwork the hair, including the minute details like strands etc. That is probably my weak point, as there has only been one piece that I was truly satisfied with the hair (this piece). 

Anyways yea, if the hair goes well, the rest should be a cinch. Here’s hoping that everything else will be smooth sailing. There are a few things left to do, which I will list soon.

If you have any suggestions on improvements etc, please comment. I would love to have some feedback, especially regarding her clothes. Some suggestions on the colour scheme I should apply to her clothing would be greatly appreciated, since I’m quite stumped on what colored clothes she should wear.

Here’s the things that I have to tackle:

  • Finishing the hair (highlights, details, individual stands, tweaking of colour)
  • Clothes (folds, shadows, lighting etc.)
  • Editing (fixing some flaws, fixing individual layers of Karin to sync coloring, softening lineart to fit the color item)
  • Details (highlights on everything, shadows, syncing Karin’s overall color to match background)

Anyways, I hope to finish this in a week or so. I really need to get used to this once more, so I can finally get back to finishing off the commissions on my stack for the past few months. I would hate to have my commissioners wait a moment longer.

To anyone interested, here’s a link to my deviantART page. Do drop by 😛

3 Responses to “Karin Koizumi Coloring [WIP]”


  1. 1 dango February 25, 2009 at 8:16 PM

    the picture isn’t loading ;_;
    but omg, i’m soooo glad you’re finally finishing this piece baz, omg omg omg. IM me when you’re done!

  2. 2 Bass February 25, 2009 at 9:28 PM

    Eh, you can’t see it? That sucks D:

    Anyways, you’ve already seen it, the only difference is the hair. It was redone again cos I didn’t like the brightness of the one before.

    I think I should be able to finish this before uni starts again on Monday the 2nd 🙂

  3. 3 Gerri November 27, 2010 at 10:09 PM

    Wow everybody!! Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂
    Thanksgiving is 1 of my favorite holidays, and each yr I like to get into the mood-extend the holiday, since it were-by reading “Thanksgiving novels.” Not surprisingly, all these stories are mostly about families, about coming together to heal old hurts and giving them thanks for the gift of love. .. .. :
    You Are Far better Off Today Than You Had been six Yrs Ago?


Leave a Reply

